Morning Music Club of Honolulu Announces the 54th Annual Scholarship Competition for 2010

The Morning Music Club of Honolulu was founded in 1905 by ten enthusiastic and musically talented women. Each member pledged to perform regularly and to promote musical interests in the community.

For 100 years, this club has enjoyed monthly classical programs highlighting performances by its own members and guest artists for the "non-performing membership" and their guests. It is one of the oldest continuously active music organizations in the United States.

In 1956, the Scholarship Competition began and has provided incentive for several now well knowned artists in the ensuing years. As many as twelve $1,000 awards have been given in a single year. It also awards Grants to classical music students to further their education. Scholarship funding is made possible through the generosity of members, guests, and friends interested in enhancing classical music in Hawai'i. If you would like to participate by giving a donation, please feel free to contact any of the members or Board members listed below:

President, Susan Bright Spangler
1st Vice President/Programs, Roxie Berlin
2nd Vice President/Historian, Ernest Chang
Recording Secretary/Project, Norma J. Wright
Corresponding Secretary, Peggy Keller
Treasurer, Virginia Fine
Assistant Treasurer, Jean Chao
Financial Adviser, John Roberts
Counselor, Louise Ripple
Hospitality, Linda Batt
Membership, Kate Roberts


The Morning Music Club of Honolulu announces the


The auditions will be held at Punahou School's Montague Hall on Saturday March 27, 2010. Last year more than a dozen $1000 scholarships were awarded to young musicians. After reading the


please call Susan Spangler at 734-2925 for an application form to be mailed to you or print out the .pdf file below:


Here is video one of the past winners of the Morning Music Scholarship Competition, Sean Kennard (student of the late Ellen Masaki):

Past Programs

The Morning Music Club of Honolulu

2006 Winners' Concert

Mozart House, 720 Iwilei Road

Sunday, April 2, 2006, 2 o'clock

1. Sonata No. 8, in G Major, Allegro Assai                                Beethoven

Laura Keller-violin            School: Punahou           Teacher:    James Stanford
2. Prelude and Fugue in D Minor, WTC II Bach Widmung (Dedication-Schumann) Liszt Six Dances in Bulgarian Rhythm, No. 6 Bartok Tiffany Hyun-piano School: Punahou Teacher: Joanna Fan ___________________________________________________________________________________
3. La Campanella Liszt Irwin Jiang-piano School: Saint Louis Teacher: Ellen Masaki ___________________________________________________________________________________
4. Nocturne in D Flat Major, Op. 27, No. 2 Chopin Danzas Argentinas, III. Danza del gaucho matrero Ginastera Heejin Kang-piano School: UH Teacher: Thomas Rosenkranz ___________________________________________________________________________________
5. Prelude in D Minor WTC I Bach Rigoletto Liszt Trina Hyun-piano School: Punahou Teacher: Joanna Fan ___________________________________________________________________________________
6. Capriccio Ponchielli Alex Hayashi-Oboe School: Kalani HS Teacher: Susan Ochi-Onishi accompanist: So Jin Kimura ___________________________________________________________________________________
7. Symphonie Espagnole, Op. 21, Allegro non troppo Edouard Lalo Asia Doike-violin Home School Teacher: James Stanford accompanist: Marianne Miyamura ___________________________________________________________________________________
8. Un Sospiro Liszt Suite for Piano IV: Fast with Ferocity Dello Joio Mandy Nakamura-piano School: Kalani Teacher: Ernest Chang ___________________________________________________________________________________

Judges: Debbie Kelsey, Jessica Choi, Henry Miyamura

Congratulations to all the winners!

To all who helped to make this event a success.
Norma J. Wright, Project Chair